Thursday, June 26, 2008

36 Federal Laws Waived by DHS

In April the Department of Homeland Security waived the following federal laws to expedite construction of a 30 foot border wall fence to the US and Mexico. The Real ID Act gives discretionary authority to Secretary Chertoff  to waive the following acts.

The National Environmental Policy Act
The Endangered Species Act
The Federal Water Pollution Control Act (commonly referred to as the Clean Water Act)
The National Historic Preservation Act
The Migratory Bird Treaty Act
The Clean Air Act
The Archelogical Resources Protection Act
The Safe Drinking Water Act
The Noise Control Act
The Solid Waste Disposal Act, as amended by the Resource Conservation and Recovery Acr
The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act
The Archaelogical and Historic Preservation Act
The Antiquities Act
The Historic Sites, Buildings, and Antiquities Act
The Wild and Scenic Rivers Act
The Farmland Protection Policy Act
The Coastal Zone Management Act
The Wilderness Act
The Federal Land Policy and Management Act
The National Wildlife Refuge System Administration Act
The Fish and Wildlife Act of 1956
The Fish and Wildlife Coordination Act
The Adminsitrative Procedure Act
The Otay Mountain Wilderness Act of 1999 Sections 102 (29) 
Section 103, Title I of the California Desert Protection Act
The National Park Service Organic Act
The National Park Service General Authorities Act
Sections 401(7), 403, and 404 of the National Parks and Recreation Act of 1978
Sections 301(a)-(f) of the Arizona Desert Wilderness Act, The Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899
The Eagle Protection Act 
The Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act
The American Indian Religious Freedom Act
The Religious Freedom Restoration Act
The National Forest Management Act of 1976
The Multiple Use and Sustained Yield Act of 1960

No comments: